TWO of Whinhill's top golfers went head-to-head for the prestigious Churn Trophy as members produced their best form in the matchplay competitions.

The finals for the five matchplay competitions - three single competitions and two doubles competitions - held throughout the 2020 season at Whinhill Golf Club were contested recently.

The normal format for the finals – all being played in one day - was changed this year due to current restrictions, with the finals being played at separate times.

The coveted Churm Trophy was won by Tommy O’Donnell, who defeated Gary Sinnamon by the score of 3&2, in a battle between two of the club’s most in-form golfers of the season.

David Siddons claimed victory in the Auld Yins' Tassie event against Denis McCabe in a closely-fought match that was decided on the 17th hole.

Andrew Mallon produced some fine golf to defeat Kevin Trainner in the Peter Graham Strokeplay Trophy.

Chris McDiarmid and Andrew McDonald ran out winners in the Boyd Greensome Trophy against the team of Paul Allan and Albert Bruce by the score 2&1.

David Adams and Jason Lindsay would take the spoils in the McIntyre Fourball Trophy final by the score of 2&1 against the consistent team of John Donald and Michael Wright.

All finals were played in a very sporting manner and all were close affairs, with three of the matches finishing on the 17th hole and another on the 16th hole.

The competitions have been well supported with the vast majority of members taking part.

The Anniversary Trophy and Hugh Graham Trophy competitions were not played for this season.

Whinhill Golf Club would like to thank Chris McDiarmid and Lee Sinnamon for their tremendous efforts over the course of a very difficult season and in the organisation of the matchplay competitions.

Congratulations go to all the winners and runners-up and to all who took part in the matchplay competitions.

Results -

Churm Trophy: Tommy O’Donnell defeated Gary Sinnamon - 3&2.

Auld Yins' Tassie Trophy: David Siddons defeated Denis McCabe – 2&1.

P. Graham (Strokeplay) Trophy: Andrew Mallon defeated Kevin Trainner.

Boyd (Greensome) Trophy: Chris McDiarmid & Andrew McDonald defeated Paul Allan & Albert Bruce – 2&1.

McIntyre (Fourball) Trophy: David Adams & Jason Lindsay defeated John Donald & Michael Wright – 2&1.